Zucchini Lovin’

September is a fabulous month to eat zucchini however you want it…baked, fried, steamed, or stewed.  My favorite of course it to bake with it.  One of David’s classmates has a garden with an abundance of zucchinis, and luckily for us we have been the beneficiaries of a few large ones.  Not only does has she given our stomachs mega satisfaction with zucchini bread and cookies, but she’s also been a great study buddy for David and a Saturday morning yoga buddy for me.  

I’m sure I caught your attention with zucchini bread and and cookies (with cream cheese). nom! nom!  So I thought I’d link the zucchini loving recipes to this post along with a future recipes I’d like to try.  Hopefully, I’ll be getting more from her garden.

 

1// 2// 3*

 

* This isn’t the actual recipe that I used to make zucchini bread, but I wanted to give proper photo credit.  The recipe that I used (which has some awesome and healthy ingredient substitutes) to make it a little healthier is below. 

Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:
1 1/2 Cups zucchini, grated
1/2 Cup oil (or 1/4 Cup oil + 1/4 Cup unsweetened applesauce)
1/2 Cup honey
2 eggs ( 1 egg + 1 Tbsp. of flaxseed mixed with 3 Tbsp. of water- let flaxseed mixture sit for 2 minutes.)
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 Cups whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg

Directions:
Beat together oil and honey, then add eggs, vanilla, and zucchini.
Sift dry ingredients and add to zucchini mixture.

 

 What are you favorite ways to make zucchini?

 

Leave a Reply

