aBOUNDing in Thanksgiving

Therefore, as you receive Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving.

Colossians 2:7

abound. “exist in abundance”

flourish. overflow. thrive. be alive with. be no end to.

Thanksgiving is truly life giving  when I make the choice to abound in it.  They key being choice.  If I don’t choose thanksgiving, I am choosing something different.  I take on the not-so-life-giving attitude.

retreat. I want to desperately withdrawal from the day. Hide my head under the covers, close my eyes, and start over.

want. I want. I want. I want.  I forget every gift, every blessing I have been given.  I become dissatisfied and focused on everything that I don’t have.

decline. I slump.  Like a tree with snow weighing down the branches, so the worries of the day weigh down my spirit.

short. My fuse is very, very short.  My focus is on me.  And anyone or anything that disrupts that focus just might experience the detonation of a bomb.

I would much rather thrive.  Enjoy each day and each person. Flourish in my walk with God.  And jump with an overwhelming amount of joy, to be alive. Not because everything is perfect.

But because “everything we are called to be and do as Christians flows out of who Christ is in us, and what he has already done on our behalf.”
Nancy Leigh DeMoss, Choosing Gratitude

If we make the choice to abound in thanksgiving… We have a natural response to our hope and faith in Christ.  Thanksgiving is part of our prayer.  We give thanks in community and and attitude of gratitude encourages the body.  Giving thanks is an ongoing, continuos act of worship.  We can continue to grow in gratitude.  Thanksgiving makes us more aware of Christ and draws us closer to his heart. Gratitude is a condition of the heart, revealing what God has done and what he is doing.

I am ending this post with some pictures of David and I “bounding” into a pit of foam at Sky Zone.  I am so thankful for our day together in Sioux Falls to see David’s day and celebrate Jon’s Birthday.

                    DSCF2814

Leave a Reply

