about joy.

DSCF2826

According to Webster, “blissful” is defined as “extremely happy; full of joy”.  I begin to ask, “is it possible to be FULL of joy?”  Because to be full of joy means you must be empty of all sorrow, anxiety, anger.  I would like to think of myself as one full of joy. One that is light hearted and laughs at the times to come.  But if I were to be honest with myself, and with you, sorrow, anxiety, anger and a plethora of other emotions knock at my door.  And I do let them in.  My husband will attest for their company.  On numerous occasions I have found myself so stressed, so angry, so annoyed, so overwhelmed, so every-other-emotion-but-happy I cannot make any rational decision.  Maybe you have felt like this too?  I often want to through myself into a two-year-old tantrum.

So what is the secret of finding joy?  Being grateful.

I have recently read “One Thousand Gifts” by Anne Voskamp.  After reading pages of finding gratitude in the day to day mundane activities, such as a sink full of bubbles,  I began to see the numerous gifts God has blessed me with.  And I found joy.

In  year of experiencing disappointments, mourning the loss of my mother in-law, and preserving through the difficulties of marriage, joy seems to be the last word I would use to describe these circumstances.  But in the words of my hope-filled and joyful spirited mother in-law, “Gratitude is not a thermometer measuring your OUTSIDE temperature, but a thermostat, setting the INNER temperature.”

Over the next 30 days I am taking a gratitude challenge through a devotional by Nancy Leigh DeMoss.  I encourage you to join me in choosing gratitude and being emptied of the things that may rob us of true joy.

Leave a Reply

